Coluvial sediments. Source: Imaggeo. Author: Jorge Mataix-Solera.

The European Geosciences Union

The European Geosciences Union (EGU) is Europe’s premier geosciences union, dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in the geosciences and the planetary and space sciences for the benefit of humanity, worldwide. It was established in September 2002 as a merger of the European Geophysical Society (EGS) and the European Union of Geosciences (EUG), and has headquarters in Munich, Germany.

It is a non-profit international union of scientists with over 12,500 members from all over the world. Membership is open to individuals who are professionally engaged in or associated with geosciences and planetary and space sciences and related studies, including students and retired seniors.

EGU is formed by seven Committees and 22 Scientific Divisions, responsible for scientific activities related to the Earth, planetary and space sciences, including the Soil System Sciences Division.

Terra rossa. Source: Imaggeo. Author: Antonio Jordán.

The Soil System Sciences Division

Soils are the key system of the Earth functioning and also the food and fiber supply for the humankind. The importance of soils in the Earth System must make us, the soil scientists, more noticeable at the EGU. The Soil System Sciences Division of EGU (SSSD) coordinates the scientific programme on Soil Science and related activities. The SSSD contributes actively with EGU by promoting scientific interchange and dissemination of activity carried out by members.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s